The most innovative educators of 2018

bigstock-student-answering-a-question-i-127108565 (1).jpg

The Harold W. McGraw, Jr. Prize in Education recognizes three individuals for their innovative contributions to education.

The winners of the Harold W. McGraw, Jr. Prize in Education 2018, which recognizes key innovative contributions to education, were announced by the Harold W. McGraw Jr. Family Foundation, McGraw-Hill Education, and Arizona State University.

The prize awarded leading approaches in fields such as psychology, computer science, and linguistics; also, improvements in student achievement, and gender equality in programming.

“This year’s winners exemplify the highest standards of educational leadership. They’ve developed and implemented innovative approaches at all levels of the education system,” said Harold McGraw III, the former chairman and CEO of The McGraw-Hill Companies.

The winners are:

Learning Science Research prize

Arthur Graesser, professor in the Department of Psychology and the Institute of Intelligent Systems at the University of Memphis. He has developed successful tutoring programs with psychology, computer science, and linguistics knowledge.

Higher Education prize

Timothy Renick, senior vice president for student success and professor of religious studies at Georgia State University. He increased graduation rates and eliminated achievement gaps based on race, ethnicity, or income level.

Pre-K-12 Education prize

Reshma Saujani, founder and CEO of Girls Who Code. Through her non-profit organization, Saujani works to close the gender gap in technology. By the end of this year, Girls Who Code will have reached over 50,000 girls.

The prize is one of the most prestigious in education, and was founded in 1988 with the aim of advancing new, successful approaches in learning and education. Each winner will receive $50,000 and the ceremony will take place at the 2018 ASU+GSV Summit in San Diego on April 17.

“All three winners are changing the foundational aspects of how we advance our society, advance our adaptability and move towards the future through education,” said Michael Crow, ASU President.